Skip to Content

BHC President Kevin Honomichl Inducted into the Kansas State University Carl R. Ice College of Engineering Hall of Fame

image description

BHC President and Co-founder Kevin Honomichl was recently nominated and selected for the prestigious award through the Kansas State University Carl R. Ice College of Engineering Hall of Fame. An induction ceremony took place in Manhattan, Kansas on Saturday, March 4, 2023, to honor the two Engineering Hall of Fame recipients— Kevin Honomichl, BHC, and Jerry Westhoff,  JJ Westhoff Construction Co.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest honor the Carl R. Ice College of Engineering bestows, with fewer than 1% of graduates invited to become members of this elite group. Recipients will join former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, General Richard Myers, ME ’65; former NSF Director John Slaughter, EE ’56; and former Cargill CEO, Warren Staley, EE ’65, in this distinguished group.

“It’s a real honor to be recognized for achievement by the University.  I am very humbled to be inducted into the Hall of Fame along with a group of very accomplished professionals for whom I have a lot of respect,” said Kevin Honomichl.

The Hall of Fame recognizes successful alumni who have reached the top levels of achievement in their career endeavors and who are committed to maintaining the highest standards of their profession. All alumni who are at least 20 years beyond graduation are eligible. In addition to alumni, each year one non-alumnus may be honored. Kansas State faculty members are also eligible upon reaching emeritus status. Hall of Fame candidates are nominated by the college administration, faculty, and alumni.

The selection criteria follow four main components: Career success and accomplishment, active involvement with and support of the college, dedication to and engagement with Kansas State University, and professional and public service.

Kevin Honomichl has been a leader in the community on top of his position as company president at BHC for many years. Co-founding BHC in 1992, the company recently celebrated its 30th anniversary. He is a 2011 graduate of Leadership Kansas and has served on the board of directors of the American Council of Engineering Companies-Kansas, including a term as national director and as the group’s national political action committee chair for Kansas. Honomichl served on the Wyandotte County Economic Development Corporation and De Soto Economic Development Council and was elected to the De Soto City Council in 2017 and reelected in 2021. He also currently holds a position on the Johnson County Community College Foundation Board, expanding across many positions in different leadership groups and leaving a lasting impact on the community.

Back to top